Agency for Mobility and EU Programmes, Frankopanska 26, HR - 10000 Zagreb, tel: +385 (0) 1 5005 635, fax: +385 (0) 1 5005 699, e-mail:

European framework

The Decision No 2241/2004/EC of the European Parliament and the Council of the European Union of 15 December 2004 on a single Community framework for the transparency of qualifications and competences (Europass), and the Decision No 1720/2006/EC of the European Parliament and the Council of the European Union of 15 November 2006 on establishing the Action Programme in the area of lifelong learning provide the basis for setting the objectives and tasks of National Europass Centres. These institutions are engaged in the implementation, coordination and promotion of the Europass initiative and the Republic of Croatia has been participating in it since 1 January 2011.

Therefore, the first decision established the abovementioned Europass framework, consisting of a personal, harmonised portfolio of documents to be used by citizens on a voluntary basis for the purpose of better communication and presentation of their qualifications and skills throughout Europe.

The initiative has been implemented by a Europe-wide network of National Europass Centres. Their work has been monitored and coordinated by the European Commission. An important participant in the implementation and promotion of the Europass initiative is the European Centre for the Development of Vocational Training (CEDEFOP). It designed the Europass website, and has been developing and maintaining it by adjusting its design and content to the needs of users with various profiles. This institution has also participated actively in the developing of the Europass documents and has monitored their application.

It should be emphasised once again that the Republic of Croatia joined the Europass initiative with full participation in the Lifelong Learning Programme on 1 January 2011. The Agency for Mobility and Programmes of the European Union is officially designated as the National Europass Centre for Croatia.